Add Safeshot Ltd. to your favourites!
Firearms Safety Northern Illinois
Northern Illinois. 708.383.2112
Firearms Safety Northern Illinois
Course Descriptions
 

Legal Ramifications of the New IL CCW Permit Law - Question and Answer Session.

Maybe you’re just not sure of where you can carry or what is legal, such as a “partially concealed firearm”, may be you are concerned about the proper home invasion response, car jacking, robbery, third party involvement, how many weapons you can carry, can you carry a loaded weapon in your center console without a holster, what about the “parking lot exception” in a shopping mall that prohibits CCW...and we’ll review the law of self-defense.

As an attorney and NRA Law Enforcement Firearm Instructor, I offer a unique insight to these and other legal concerns that you won’t get from other firearm instructors. This class will allow you to ask your questions about your new CCW Permit, or posture a self-defense scenario. The cost is just $50 for the four-hour session. That’s a lot cheaper than retaining my services if you get sued or get indicted. $50 would only buy you ten minutes of consultation.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

IL CCW Concealed Carry Course

The IL CCW ACT requires 16 hours of training. Depending on prior training, an individual may receive up to 8 hours of credit. All applicants will take the “mandatory 8 hours” which consists of training that covers the following:

(1) firearm safety;
(2) the basic principles of marksmanship;
(3) care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm;
(4) all applicable State and federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm; and
(5) instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.

An applicant for a new license shall provide proof of certification by a certified instructor that the applicant passed a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm consisting of:

(1) a minimum of 30 rounds; and
(2) 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Department.

The remaining 8 hours of training will consist of UT CCW and FL CCW Permit training. Why would someone take that training as a part of IL CCW Training? Simple: IL recognizes UT and FL training for the 8 hours, and the added states a licensee can carry a concealed weapon nearly doubles. The IL CCW Permit is recognized in 19 states. If you add the FL and UT training, upon receipt of those permits, along with IL, the licensee can carry in a total of 36 States.

Our class can be completed in a weekend. If you have prior training accepted by the Illinois State Police you can complete the class in a day.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

BASIC MARKSMANSHIP & LAW OF SELF DEFENSE:

This class provides a comprehensive lecture on the Law of Self Defense, Fundamentals of Basic Marksmanship and Responsibilities of the Gun Owner. Taught by a State Certified instructor, this class is suitable for any person needing instruction in basic marksmanship and legal responsibilities of the gun owner. Students should allow the entire day for the class.

  • Law of Self Defense as it pertains to the Gun Owner;
  • Rights and Responsibilities of Gun Owners;
  • Tactical Awareness;
  • Fundamentals of Marksmanship;
  • Firearm Safety;
  • Preventive maintenance and cleaning;
  • Ammunition and ammunition malfunctions;
  • Nomenclature of the semi-automatic pistol;
  • Disassembly / re-assembly of the semi-automatic pistol;
  • Mechanical operation of the semi-automatic pistol;
  • The natural action stance and thumbs forward grip;
  • Basic gun-handling skills;
  • Presentation from ready pistol;
  • Loading / unloading the semi-automatic pistol;
  • Ammunition management;
  • Malfunction clearance drills;
  • Methodology of shooting the semi-automatic pistol;
  • Introduction to Tactical Shooting;

Students may bring their own handgun, or use a revolver or semi-auto that SafeShot will provide free of charge (advance notice required). Ammunition requirement is 50 rounds, and if the student uses SafeShot firearms the caliber is .38SPL for revolver, and 9mm for semi-auto.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

UTAH CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT COURSE
In this course the student will be instructed on:

Hands on instruction in safe loading,
unloading, storage, and carrying firearms
concealed;
Review of current laws defining lawful
firearm use;
Lawful self defense;
Use of force;
Transportation;
Concealment;
Basic Handgun Safety Training & General
Familiarity;
Range rules;
Review safe loading/unloading,
cocking/de-cocking;

Maintenance and cleaning;
Safe draw, presentation, and holstering;
Safe concealment considerations;
Safe storage (firearms and ammunition);
Utah Criminal and Traffic Code;
Concealed Firearm Act;
Justification of Force;
Rules of Arrest, byWhom and How Made;
Weapons in Prohibited areas/Circumstances;
Weapons Laws;
Assault and Related Offenses;
Weapons Laws, (Non-Concealed Permit
Holder);
Federal Firearms Regulations.

 

Only $75 for Utah CCW Training and $125 for adding Florida CCW application (includes both states - Utah and Florida (FL only is $75)).

Residency of Utah or Florida is not required.

The Utah CCW and Florida CCW gun permits currently allow concealed carry in 31 states.

The combined Utah CCW/Florida CCW course is completed in only 8 hours in a classroom.

A concealed carry gun permit (CCP/CFP/CCW) is a valuable credential for any multi-state traveler, whether vacationer, retiree, trucker, salesman or any other person. Natural disasters such as Hurricane Katrina force law-abiding citizens had to vacate their homes and go to different states. Imagine the peace of mind a legal permit to carry a concealed firearm provides in ther new state. A concealed carry handgun may save the lives of you and your family in an emergency situation.

These are the states in the USA that Utah CCW and Florida CCW will allow you to carry:

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Idaho
Indiana
Iowa
Kentucky
Louisiana

Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
New Hampshire
New Mexico (FL)
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma

South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

With the Utah CCW, you get Minnesota, which you don't get with the Florida CCW. Also, with the Utah permit, note that the following states only accept it if you are a Utah resident: Colorado,Florida, Michigan, New Hampshire. If you have the Utah permit and are not a resident of Utah,you'll need the Florida permit to carry in Florida. With a Florida CCW permit, you are valid in
Kansas; you also get South Carolina but only if you are a Florida resident. Please note that this information can change at any time and the permit holder or applicant should check the appropriate state's carry laws.

Disclaimer: law can change at anytime and you need to check
with the respective states before you carry in those states. SafeShot, Ltd. Makes no representation as to the accuracy of this list.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

CCW PERMIT HOLDER: INTERMEDIATE PISTOL 1: FUNDAMENTALS OF CONCEALED CARRY.

This 1-day firearms training course focuses on developing combat gun-handling skills. The class concentrates on fundamentals of firearm use in self-defense. Although this class is geared towards the semi-automatic pistol, revolvers are welcome. At the conclusion of the class students will be able to safely draw from a holster, engage targets in rapid fashion, clear a jammed weapon,  quickly re-load their firearm and do much more.

The following firearms training topics will be covered:

  • Firearms training safety review;
  • Principals of personal defense;
  • Intermediate pistol handling;
  • Mental conditioning and combat mind set;
  • Developing tactical awareness;
  • Review of shooting fundamentals;
  • The natural action stance and thumbs forward grip (semi-automatic pistol only);
  • Procedure of shooting the semi-automatic pistol and revolver;
  • Presentation of the semi-automatic pistol and revolver from ready pistol;
  • Presentation of the semi-automatic pistol and revolver from the holster;
  • Moving off the line of force;
  • Threat assessment and area scanning;
  • Ammunition management and reloading techniques;
  • Malfunction clearance drills;
  • Combat gun-handling skills;
  • Engaging multiple threats;
  • Drugged assailant and body armor defeating drills;
  • Weapon retention issues;
  • Disparity of force issues;
  • Use of the flash sight picture vs. perfect sight alignment;
  • Front sight proximity shooting;
  • Use of barricades in defensive shooting;
  • Shooting from kneeling positions.
  • Qualification course of fire

Course duration: 1 day (8 hours)

Course tuition: $ 175.00

Course student limit: 14

Student requirements: Firearms training equipment, eye protection, ear protection, baseball type cap, belt and strong-side holster (no cross-draw holsters) speed loaders and carriers, and magazine carriers, semi-auto pistol with at least 3 hi-capacity magazines or 5 single stack magazines. A minimum of 300 rounds of ammunition (500 rounds recommended.)

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

CCW PERMIT HOLDER: ADVANCED PISTOL- CONCEALED CARRY SKILLS AND DRILLS.

This 1-day firearms training course continues developing gun-handling skills learned in the Intermediate Pistol CCW class. Proper mind set is emphasized as the concepts of combat mindset, threat confrontation, and control of all visual areas while moving off the line of force will be emphasized throughout the class. Although this class is geared towards the semi-automatic pistol, revolvers are welcome.

  • Firearms training safety review;
  • Principals of personal defense;
  • Advanced pistol methodology and concepts;
  • Review of shooting fundamentals;
  • The natural action stance and thumbs forward grip (semi-automatic pistol only);
  • Methodology of shooting the semi-automatic pistol and revolver;
  • Review of Presentation of the semi-automatic pistol and revolver from ready pistol;
  • Review of Presentation of the semi-automatic pistol and revolver from the holster;
  • Moving off the line of force;
  • Threat assessment and area scanning;
  • Ammunition management and reloading techniques;
  • One hand shooting techniques;
  • Flashlight-low light shooting skills;
  • Shooting while moving;
  • Securing the threat;
  • Weapon retention issues;
  • Disparity of force issues;
  • Review of the use of the flash sight picture vs. perfect sight alignment;
  • Review of front sight proximity shooting;
  • Use of barricades in defensive shooting;
  • Shooting from kneeling positions.
  • Qualification course of fire.

Course duration: 1 day (8 hours)

Course tuition: $ 175.00

Course student limit: 14

Student requirements: Firearms training equipment, eye protection, ear protection, baseball type cap, belt and strong-side holster (no cross-draw holsters) speed loaders and carriers, and magazine carriers, semi-auto pistol or revolver with at least 3 hi-capacity magazines, 5 single stack magazines or 4 speed loaders. A minimum of 300 rounds of ammunition.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

SABRE Civilian Safety Awareness Program (CSAP)

Learn the safety mindset and adopt the SABRE Safety Plan to protect yourself and your family. You'll participate in hands on training to help prepare you to escape a dangerous threat.
photo of self defense class materials Become proficient and accurate when using your SABRE pepper spray by deploying Water Filled, Inert Practice Sprays at Static Targets. Advance your skills by deploying the Practice Spray at your instructor during a simulated attack! BE SMART – BE READY – BE SAFE!
CSAP students will be exposed to three (3) hours of Safety Awareness Information, Tips, Skills and Techniques within an intimate and fun atmosphere. Class sizes are limited to no more than 20 students allowing your instructor to critique your performance and provide important feedback. Each student will receive:

  • SABRE Civilian Safety Awareness Manual
  • 3 SABRE Water Filled, Inert Practice Canisters
  • SABRE Defense Spray with Quick Release Key Ring
  • Survivor Skills for Smart Living
  • Certificate of Completion
  • Classroom Time + Hands On Training


Who Will Teach This Program?

Security Equipment Corporation has trained over 4,500 police forces around the globe including the New York Police Department, Chicago Police Department, US Customs & Border Protection, US Capitol Police and Ireland National Police.  In a joint effort, SEC and many of its elite law enforcement contacts worked together to create the SABRE Personal Safety Academy.
Your SABRE Personal Safety Academy will be taught by a Certified SABRE PSA Instructor. Prior to becoming a Certified SABRE PSA Instructor, your Instructor had to display his/her presentation abilities, knowledge of the program content, and ability to teach the practical safety drills.
Knowledge, enthusiasm, passion, and professionalism are required characteristics of SABRE Personal Safety Academy Instructors.

Who Will Benefit from this Class?

Everyone can benefit from this class.
Communters . . . Retirees . . . Nurses . . . Couples . . .Homemakers . . . Singles . . . Bartenders . . . Runners. . .Walkers. . . Wait Staff . . . College Students . . . Your Loved Ones Managers . . . Women . . . Men . . . Your Children. . .Business Travelers . . . Real Estate Agents
If you work with strangers, this class is certainly for you.
Men? Absolutely! Whether you're a male or female, even if you have proficient self defense skills, why go hands on when you can possibly avoid an attack or defend yourself from a distance?
Carry a cell phone? Maybe you'll have time to call the police, but it could take  several minutes for them to arrive!
You must be at least 18 years old to attend.

NOTE: YOU WILL NOT BE SPRAYED WITH PEPPER SPRAY AT THIS CLASS!!!

This is a personal safety program produced by the National Rifle Association that teaches strategies you can use to avoid situations where self-defense is required. This course focuses on proactive courses of action, rather than reactive. Criminals prefer easy targets. By making yourself more difficult to prey upon, you lessen your risk of criminal attack. That means having a personal safety strategy in place before you need it.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The “Refuse To Be A Victim®” seminar covers topics that pertain to both men and women. The information covered is appropriate for young adults to senior citizens. In addition, the Refuse To Be A Victim® program materials also include a sp ecial teaching module for parents which discusses tips for children ages pre-school to college. Women-only seminars are also available.

Here are just a few of the topics presented in the Refuse To Be A Victim® seminars:

-Personal Security
-Automobile Security
-Workplace Security
-Technological Security

The single most important step you can make toward ensuring your personal safety is making the decision to refuse to be a victim. This means that you must have an overall personal safety strategy in place before you need it.
Through a four-hour seminar called Refuse To Be A Victim® you can learn the personal safety tips and techniques you need to avoid dangerous situations and avoid becoming a victim.

The topics presented in the Refuse To Be A Victim® seminar include,

  • Mental preparedness
  • How to make your home more secure
  • Improving your physical security in various environments
  • Safety precautions when driving
  • Safeguarding yourself and items with traveling
  • Technological Security
  • What to consider when choosing physical self-defense training
  • Personal protection devices

The following optional topic areas can be added upon request in advance. This will add a small amount of time and cost to the seminar fee.

  • Workplace Safety
  • Safety for Parents and Children (Pre-school through High School)
  • Safety for College Students
  • Safety for Seniors and Persons with Physical Disabilities

This is not a firearms course.
This is also not a self defense course.

Attend our Refuse to Be a Victim Seminar and you can learn the personal safety tips and techniques you need to avoid dangerous situations and AVOID BEING A VICTIM.

Safety experts agree the single most important step toward ensuring your personal safety is making the conscious decision to Refuse To Be A Victim®. You stand a much better chance of preventing criminal attack if you develop a safety plan before you need it. That is why we are offering the Refuse To Be A Victim® crime prevention seminar.

The seminar teaches easy to understand methods you can use to increase awareness and prevent criminal confrontation. In just three to four hours, you will get the tools you need to develop your own personal safety strategy, including information about:

  • Home Security
  • Personal Security
  • Automobile Security
  • Workplace Security
  • Technological Security
Class fee is only $25.00 and includes a 92 page manual from the NRA, plus other materials. This is a non-shooting class and there are no requirements for attending this class. Length is about four hours.


STATE OF ILLINOIS 20 HOUR ARMED COURSE FOR
SECURITY PERSONNEL AND PRIVATE DETECTIVES
This is an approved course with the State of Illinois Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, #102-216, and is a requirement for personnel to possess a firearm within the performance of their duties under the 225 ILCS 447/ Private Detective, Private Alarm, Private Security, Fingerprint Vendor, and Locksmith Act of 2004.

In this course, you will be provided instruction on:

  • Law of Self Defense as it pertains to the Security Officer;
  • Transport of firearms;
  • Retail Theft Act;
  • Unlawful Use of Weapons;
  • Law of Arrest as it pertains to the Security Officer;
  • Tactical Awareness;
  • Fundamentals of Marksmanship;
  • Firearm Safety;
  • Preventive maintenance and cleaning;
  • Ammunition and ammunition malfunctions;
  • Nomenclature of the semi-automatic pistol;
  • Disassembly / re-assembly of the semi-automatic pistol;
  • Mechanical operation of the semi-automatic pistol;
  • The natural action stance and thumbs forward grip;
  • Basic gun-handling skills;
  • Presentation from ready pistol;
  • Presentation from the holster;
  • Loading / unloading the semi-automatic pistol;
  • Ammunition management;
  • Malfunction clearance drills;
  • Methodology of shooting the semi-automatic pistol;
  • Introduction to Tactical Shooting.

Completion of this course will enhance your ability to find employment in the Security and Private Detective fields: your prospective employer will see on your résumé that your training is complete for armed employment, and you would be available for armed assignments. Your completion of this class will give you Certification of Training by the Department of Professional Regulation for a Firearm Control Card with your employer for revolver, semi auto, shotgun and rifle. Armed assignments in the industry pay significantly better per hour than non-armed accounts.

Course manuals are provided for the Laws Regarding Security Personnel and Private Detectives,and Basic Marksmanship.

Cost is $250.00 for certification in revolver, semi auto, shotgun and rifle. Range fee and course materials are included, as well as targets. Student is responsible for ammunition:
50 rounds revolver;
50 rounds semi auto;

10 rounds 12 gauge 00 buckshot;
20 rounds center fire rifle.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

STATE OF ILLINOIS 20 HOUR BASIC COURSE FOR SECURITY PERSONNEL AND PRIVATE DETECTIVES

Course Title: Basic Report Requirements & Fire Protection Training for Private Detective, Security Personnel, Private Alarm and Locksmiths

Course Number: BRRT 2012 – 1

Course Materials: SafeShot, Ltd. (1997, 2008). Basic Report Requirements & Fire Protection Training for Private Detective, Security Personnel, Private Alarm and Locksmiths. SafeShot, Ltd., Oak Park, IL.

Course Description: Twenty Hour Basic Training Program in Compliance with Training Mandates of the Department of Professional Regulation of the State of Illinois Pursuant to Chapter 225, Act 446, of the Illinois Compiled Statutes, Private Detective, Private Alarm and Private Security Act of 2003, regarding registered employees of the private security contractor agency who will provide traditional guarding or other private security related functions or who respond to alarm systems shall complete a minimum of 20 hours of classroom basic training provided by a qualified instructor.

Course Goals/Objectives: In this course, you will be provided instruction on:

  • Basic Training Requirements for Private Detective, Security Personnel, Private Alarm and Locksmiths
  • Twenty Hour Training Program in Compliance with Training Mandates of the Department of Professional Regulation of the State of Illinois Pursuant to Chapter 225, Act 446, of the Illinois Compiled Statutes, Private Detective, Private Alarm and Private Security Act of 2004,
  • The law regarding arrest and search and seizure as it applies to private security.
  • Civil and criminal liability for acts related to private security.
  • The offenses under the Criminal Code that are directly related to the protection of persons and property.
  • The use of force, including but not limited to the use of nonlethal force.
  • The law on private security forces and on reporting to law enforcement agencies.
  • Civil rights and public relations.
  • Arrest and control techniques.
  • The identification of terrorists, acts of terrorism, and terrorist organizations, as defined by federal and State statutes.
  • Report writing
  • Fire protection

Course Introduction:
This course provides training mandated by the State of Illinois for private detectives, security personnel, alarm contractors and locksmiths who need to complete the state required 20 hour basic course. Upon completion of the course, the student is provided with certification of completion of the 20 hour Basic Course.

Grading Information and Criteria:
Grading is pursuant to State requirements and is a pass/fail method. There is one exam, a written exam on the class and course materials.

Written exam: 75% or better

Other Information: No prerequisite courses. PDF texts provided with enrollment at no extra charge. Course location and times TBA.

Course Schedule:
  • Session 1
    • Legal definitions, transport of firearms, Law of Self Defense, self defense tactics, Retail Theft Act; Unlawful Use of Weapons; Law of Arrest as it pertains to the Security Officer; Civil and criminal liability for acts related to private security; The elements of offenses under the Criminal Code of 1961 directly related to the protection of persons and property; The law on private police and on reporting to law enforcement agencies; Tactical Awareness;

  • Session 2
    • The use of force; arrest and control techniques; civil rights and public relations; fire protection.

  • Session 3
    • The identification of terrorists, acts of terrorism, and terrorist organizations, as defined by federal and State statutes.

  • Session 4
    • Report writing.

  • Session 5
    • Review, Exam review and written exam.

  • Tuition:
    • $95.00. Includes course manuals.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★



Firearms Safety Northern Illinois   Firearms Safety Northern Illinois